Board of Managers

The AUPO FCC Board of Managers is responsible for managing the business and affairs of the AUPO FCC.

The Board of Managers consists of a chair and vice chair, six pairs from the participating subspecialty societies representing Cornea, Glaucoma, Neuro-Ophthalmology, Ophthalmic Oncology & Pathology, Pediatric Ophthalmology, and Uveitis, three representatives each for Surgical Retina and Medical Retina, which represents three different societies, and four representatives from the AUPO.

The Board of Managers establishes a “Review Committee” to evaluate fellowship programs that are up for review The Review Committee consists of one Subspecialty Manager from each participating subspecialty and the Chair and Vice Chair of the Company. The Review Committee elects a Chair and Vice Chair of the Review Committee.

Board of Managers Officers

Hans E. Grossniklaus, MD, Chair
Jennifer E. Thorne, MD, Vice Chair 
Andrew G. Lee, MD, Treasurer
Elmer Y. Tu, MD, MD, Chair Review Committee
Kelly Muir, MD, Vice Chair Review Committee


Cornea, External Disease, Refractive Surgery
Sophie Deng, MD
Elmer Y. Tu, MD*

Ahmed Aref, MD
Kelly Muir, MD*

Medical Retina
Manjot Gill, MD*
Deeba Husain, MD
Rukhsana Mirza, MD

Neuro Ophthalmology
Andrew G. Lee, MD*
Prem Subramanian, MD, PhD

Michelle Bloomer, MD
David J. Wilson, MD*

Pediatric Ophthalmology
Alex Levin, MD*
Phoebe Lenhart, MD

Sunir Garg, MD
Tarek S. Hassan, MD*
G. Baker Hubbard, MD

John Gonzales, MD
Kathryn Pepple, MD, PhD*

*Review Committee


Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology
Joan W. Miller, MD
Steven E. Feldon, MD, MBA
Geetha Davis, MD
Sayoko E. Moroi-Fetters, MD


Stuart L. Fine, MD - Retina - AUPO - Founding Co-Chair and Senior Advisor
Steven E. Rubin MD - Consultant


Kathleen Mitchell - AUPO FCC Manager